St. Mark's presents Saint-Saëns' Christmas Oratorio


St. Mark's United Church of Christ will have a small ensemble performing Saint-Saëns' "Oratorio de Noel, Op. 12" (also known as his Christmas Oratorio) at their worship service on Sunday, December 23rd at 10:30a.m led by the Minister of Music, Katie Traughber.  

Saint-Saëns' "Oratorio de Noel" is a welcome alternative to the often played "Messiah" by Handel. Written in 1858 this 10 movement piece is approximately 40 minutes long and written for strings, harp, organ, soli (SMATBr), and chorus (SATB).

The 10 movements include:

1. Prelude In the Style of Bach
2. Et Pastores erant; Gloria (Chorus)
3. Expectants expectavi Dominum (Soprano)
4. Domine, ego credidi (Tenor, Chorus)
5. Benedictus qui venit (Soprano, Bass)
6. Quare fremuerunt gentes (Chorus)
7. Tecum principium (Soprano, Tenor, Bass) - will be cut for the service
8. Alleluja (Soprano, Soprano, Alto, Bass)
9 .Consurge, Filia Sion (Soprano, Soprano, Alto, Bass, Chorus)
10. Tollite hostias (Chorus)

Photo: courtesy of St. Mark's Facebook page