Vote for horse racing’s NTRA Moment of the Year


The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) has opened voting in the 14th Annual NTRA Moment of the Year. The award, chosen by fans, recognizes the moment in this year of racing that was most memorable or impressionable among the voting fans.

Among previous year winners are Birdstone’s wire defeat of Smarty Jones’ Triple Crown attempt in the 2004 Belmont Stakes (2004); Barbaro’s struggle to overcome his injury in the Preakness Stakes (2006); Zenyatta’s win in the 2009 Breeders’ Cup Classic (2009), followed by her nose defeat to Blame in the 2010 Breeders’ Cup Classic (2010). Last year’s winning moment was Drosselmeyer’s Breeders’ Cup Classic victory over Game On Dude.

"The NTRA Moment of the Year allows fans to salute the people, horses and memories that make our sport so compelling,” said Keith Chamblin, NTRA Senior Vice President. “We look forward to seeing which one of the unforgettable moments from 2012 they select as this year’s winner."

Three of this year’s 12 nominated moments occurred at Churchill Downs and most of the other moments involve locally-based connections. The full list of the 12 nominated moments are: